Welcome Guest! ( Login | Register )
On Reason

khristofer
4/21/2006     
Member Gabby asked that I post my research paper for all to read, I'm a philosophy student when I'm not munging around with computers as a systems administrator.

This paper is on reason, obviously hence the title, as described by David Hume. That's not very descriptive, so let me explain - no there is too much, let me sum up. Philosophers prior to the sixteenth century believed there existed two natures within the Human understanding, passion and reason. These passions were locked into battle, with every philosopher declaring that reason was every bit superiour, cold and calculating, it was everything that humanity needed to survive, if only we could get past those pesky passions. Hume disagrees, and shows quite readily - though his philosophy is not perfect - that the reason is an inert mechanism called up by the passions to find meaning in the experience we find ourselves in.

If you're interested, read on: On Reason.

Post #13507 Back to top ▲
4/21/2006

khristofer
Gabby asked that I post my research paper for all to read, I'm a philosophy student when I'm not munging around with computers as a systems administrator.

This paper is on reason, obviously hence the title, as described by David Hume. That's not very descriptive, so let me explain - no there is too much, let me sum up. Philosophers prior to the sixteenth century believed there existed two natures within the Human understanding, passion and reason. These passions were locked into battle, with every philosopher declaring that reason was every bit superiour, cold and calculating, it was everything that humanity needed to survive, if only we could get past those pesky passions. Hume disagrees, and shows quite readily - though his philosophy is not perfect - that the reason is an inert mechanism called up by the passions to find meaning in the experience we find ourselves in.

If you're interested, read on: On Reason.

Post #13507